discover our village
the village - the coat of arms

With its 803 inhabitants (Moloises and Molois) and a surface of 11 185 acres (4 528 ha) , the parish of la Mole is paradoxically one of the less populated but also one the most extended in the bay of Saint-Tropez.

The current village located in the agricultural plain of the Môle river, along the National road 98 which connects the bay of Saint-Tropez to Hyères and Toulon, was founded in the second half of the 19th century.

At the entrance of the village when coming from Cogolin, opposite to the airport, you will discover the pretty round towers of the Castle of la Mole, whose origin goes up in the 11th century. The castle was repurchased in 1770 by the family of Fonscolombe to the Marquis of Saint-Tropez, Joseph-Jean Baptiste of Suffren (brother of the famous Bailly). The world famous writer Antoine de Saint-Exupéry spent a part of his childhood there, with his maternal grandparents.


After several name changes, la Molle then la Môle, the name of the commune from now on is fixed by deliberation of the city council: la Mole. The river which passes through it however kept its circumflex accent!

map of the Bay of Saint-Tropez



Mairie de la Mole © 2003
Hôtel de Ville F-83310 La Mole - tel. +33 4 94 40 05 80 - fax. +33 4 94 49 55 24

[Back]